top of page
  • danicorrigan7

Get out and Take a Walk

Updated: May 9, 2022

It's as simple as that--and it can boost your happiness!



Being outside in the daylight can help us feel happier, reduces stress, and boosts vitality (Ryan et al., 2014). Being among environments with greenery or water can improve our mood, creativity, and increase productivity. Sunlight helps produce vitamin D, which is helpful for our health too. It's restorative for our minds to get out in nature and breathe in the fresh air.


In college, I noticed that many of my days were spent going from class to the library, seated in front of my computer. Before I knew it, the sun would set before I had spent much time outside at all. So, I decided to commit to taking a walk in nature four times a week.


I hadn't had quality "me time" in awhile--I usually prefer spending time with my roommates. If I am alone, I'm typically working on an assignment, mindlessly scrolling through my phone, or watching a favorite TV show.


So, four times a week for about an hour at a time, I walked in the woods and on beaches, all by myself. I left my phone behind in the car (or, if I thought I could get lost, I brought it along on airplane mode so that I wouldn't get any notifications). I was present with my thoughts, acknowledging the beautiful sights and sounds around me, and the other friendly walkers. Almost instantly, I noticed that I was feeling better.


Not only was I getting some movement and exercise, but I was taking some time to appreciate the beauty of nature and how the seasons were changing. It was a break in the busy schedule of my school day, and a chance to clear my mind.


If you have an hour or even fifteen minutes, get outside and take a walk! It has wonderful benefits for your mental and physical well-being.




References

Ryan, Catherine O., William D. Browning, Joseph O. Clancy, Scott L. Andrews, and Namita B. Kallianpurkar. "Biophilic Design Patterns: Emerging Nature-Based Parameters for Health and Well-Being in the Built Environment." Archnet-IJAR: International Journal of Architectural Research, vol. 8, issue 2 (2014): 62-76.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page